Book review on 5 Things| Bay Area Book Photographer

Every once in a while, I get a really cool book to review (lots of times I get not-so-cool books, but I tend not to write here about those. You should be thanking me right about now…). A few months ago, I received Vintage Knits for Modern Babies by Hadley Fierlinger from 10 Speed Press. Let me tell you, this is one of the cool books!

IMG_8045

Now, let me tell you, it’s not easy to review knitting books. First, you can’t just READ it and then write up your thoughts. You have to actually KNIT something to test out the instructions, and that, my friends, takes TIME. (I just noticed that “time” is a four-letter word. Coincidence? I think not.) So even though I received this book a few months ago, it isn’t until now that I can bring you a full report…

Now I can tell you, not only are the photos gorgeous, not only are the 25 projects are cute and approachable for a time-starved lady like me… and the patterns are easy to follow, and they WORK! (Wouldn’t you just hate to buy a knitting book and find out that the patterns… didn’t, well, work? Wouldn’t that just suck? Well, rest assured, Hadley has put together some mighty-fine instructions.)

I just completed the Organic Heirloom Baby Blanket for a new little one. Isn’t it gorgeous? (Just say yes and we’ll move on.)
IMG_8044

If you’re interested in these sorts of things, I substituted six skeins of Lion brand organic cotton (in Almond) for the recommended Blue Sky Alpaca Dyed Organic Cotton recommended in the pattern. Why? I had it on-hand. (Yes, I do occasionally “shop my stash” but I try not to make it a habit.)

I have also cast on for the Wavy Cashmere Baby Blanket, but I am not insane (at least about knitting in luxury yarns) so I am doing it in cotton chenille instead of cashmere:

IMG_8048

So, in the spirit of fives, here are three more adorable projects I’m dying to create:

The Angora Bolero:

IMG_8047

The Vintage Pixie Cap:

IMG_8050

The Tiny Trousers (or maybe I just want those Tiny Toes!!):

IMG_8049

Leave a Reply

Categories

2010 Feature

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Contact

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 3,321 hits
